How many surahs does the Quran have?

The Quran contains 114 surahs, or chapters. The Quran is the religious text of Islam, the book that Muslims believe to be a revelation from Allah. The name “Quran” means recitation. The verses within each surah are referred to ayats. The number of verses varies from surah to surah.

Surahs are designated as either Meccan or Medinan depending on whether the verses were revealed before or after Muhammad migrated to the city of Medina. The literary style of the Quran is described as a combination of poetry and prose. The Quran text does not have a definitive beginning, middle or end. A person who has memorized the Quran in its entirety is referred to as a hafiz.
Source: reference


Check Also

How do you read the Quran in English rather than Arabic?

Follow There are many free English translations of the Quran available online, including the versions available on the Clear Quran website and In addition to English translations, many of these websites feature side-by-side comparisons of the English and Arabic versions of ...

Does Quran Explorer offer lessons in Arabic?

Follow Quran Explorer offers Quran reading, memorization and translation lessons in Arabic through its partner site Quran Interactive. All instructors are proficient in English and Urdu, while Arabic-speaking instructors are available upon request. Lessons on Quran Interactive are conducted online using Skype. ...

Is Quran al Kareem Arabic?

Follow Quran al Kareem is an English transliteration of the Arabic phrase “noble Koran.” The Koran (Arabic for “read” or “recite”) is the name of the holy text of Islam. “Kareem” is difficult to translate into English and has the sense of ...