What are the pillars of Islam?

The religion of Islam has been built upon five pillars. These are: fastin, namaz (performing the ritual prayers as stated times), Hajj (pilgramage to Mecca), Zakat (Almsgiving), testifying of Allahs Oneness and of the prophethood of the Prophet Muhammad (Shahadah).

One of the pillars of Islam is to fast in the month of Ramadan. Through fasting, Muslims protect themselves from their evil selves domination and fierceness by disciplining and purifying it. And there develops a sense of compassion towards the poor in their hearts with the pain of hunger they suffer from.

Another pillar of Islam is to peform ritual prayers at stated times. It means standing before the presence of Allah five times a day by understanding their impotence and defectiveness with bowing down and prostration and showing their servitude to Him. Prescribed prayers are universal worship and universal gratitude. Every Muslim has to perform it. The Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) ordered: Prayers at stated times are the pillars of the religion (Tirmidi, Iman-8)

One of the pillars of Islam is Hajj (Pilgrimage to holy city of Mecca). It has been ordered for the Muslims, whose financial situation and health are suitable based on Islamic law, to go for Hajj at least once in a life time at a particular season which is determined by the Islamic law (Shariah). One of the greatest wisdoms of this worship, which is compulsory, is to have Muslims all over the world meet each other and to demonstrate that all human beings are equal in the sight of Allah (SWT) regardless of nationality, language, skin colour, and social status.

Another pillars of Islam is to Give mandatory alms (Zakat), which is the last pillar of Islam. Allah Almighty has made it compulsory for the wealthy Muslims, for the sake of Allah, to give the poor Muslims some of their wealth (2.5 %), the amount of which Islam has nominated. These goods, which the rich give to the poor, are called Zakah. As far as the Islamic law is concerned, this is the right of the poor. Islam encourages Muslims to help the poor apart from Zakat as well. And these are called charity.


Check Also

Who was the prophet Muhammad?

Follow The Prophet Muhammad was believed by many Muslims to be a prophet and messenger of God. He was born in the year 570 in the city of Mecca. He is seen by Muslims as the last prophet sent by God to ...

What is Muhammad famous for?

Follow Muhammad is best known as a Muslim prophet who received revelations from God through the angel Gabriel. The prophecies were revealed to Muhammad over a period of 23 years and are known as the Quran. His greatest achievement was founding the ...

Can you find pictures of Muhammad online?

Follow Though many Muslims find the display of images of the prophet Muhammad to be offensive, some websites offer images of the prophet, particularly in the context of satire or reporting on satire. Though it is not mentioned in the Quran, supplemental ...